Keeping information separate
Chinese walls refer to barriers which prevent information being seen or acquired by those that shouldn't obtain it. When applied in office premises, Chinese walls can take the form of restricted access rights into certain parts of the building, or complete separation of offices in some cases.
Chinese walls in FundApps
In the cloud, Chinese walls take the form of different accessibility and viewing rights. At FundApps, we can do this easily by setting up companies and limiting access based on our user privilege model. You can read more about the different types of user permissions here.
To set up Chinese walls, you will need to set up different companies. In the example shown below we have ‘FundApps’ as the top level company, which has two companies that need to segregate information via Chinese walls - ‘FundApps AM’ and ‘FundApps Alternatives’. You can read more about setting up companies here!
Through your eyes
Users at the top level company can see anything in the underlying companies; these users are usually admins. As these users can see everything across the platform, including all results, uploaded documents and previous uploads, we recommend reviewing the number of persons who are given this level of access.
Users of the underlying companies that have chinese walls in place can only see information relevant to that company. For example, users under ‘FundApps AM’ will only be able to see results, documents and portfolios for that company only.
If you are a user at the top level and want to see exactly what users at a specific company can see, you can select the company in question from the Company dropdown. While a company is selected, only the information visible at that company will be shown.
Special case: documents
If users at the top level upload documents to disclosures of the underlying company, these documents will not be able to be downloaded/actioned by users of the underlying company. This information could contain sensitive information about the company as a whole and therefore viewing is prevented for those in the underlying company.